Sportsman's Give away

Department Picture

Welcome to SHFD - Station #14

Located in Pitt County North Carolina, Staton House is one of Twenty-One volunteer departments in the county. Our coverage area is 40.65 square miles with a population of 6,044 persons. We average 350 - 400 emergency responses per year.

A total of eight vehicles are maintained at two stations by our members. Two Engines, One Tanker, One Brush truck, a Support Truck, and a General Use vehicle are Located at Station One. One Engine and a Tanker serve at Station Two.

Our ISO Insurance rating is 6/9

         The Services we Provide Include:

  • Residential Fire Protection
  • Industrial / Commercial Fire Protection
  • Vehicle Extrication
  • Wildland Fire Suppression
  • Fire Safety Education

The History of Staton House Community Fire Department

 Staton House Community Fire Department Inc. was formed soon after two tragic fires in the area. The burning of the Frank Taylor homeplace on June 8th 1960, and the destruction of a packhouse on the Wadie T. Carson farm one week later. Representatives from House Station, Staton's Mill, Mt. Pleasant, Parkers Chapel and Johns Town communities met and laid plans to purchase a fire truck and to set up a volunteer fire department on June 21st 1960.

 Ed Hemingway was elected President of the Board of directors, as well as Fire Chief. Twenty men (four from each community) were selected to be volunteer firemen.

 A truck financed by public donations was purchased from the state and equipped with a 1200 gallon tank, 100ft. of hose, a 100 gallon per minute pump, and a nozzle at a cost of $1900.00. It was decided that the truck would be located at Harry Cooke's Store.

 Staton House Fire Department became operational on July 22nd 1960, making it the first rural fire dept. in Pitt County. The first fire call that the newly formed department responded to was a house in the Greenfield Terrace subdivision (Now located in the city limits of Greenville)
 August of 1961 saw the arrival of a much needed second truck for the organization. This unit was both lighter and faster than the first truck, with an 800 gallon tank and a 100 gallon per minute front-mount pump.

The truck cost the department $2600.00, and was viewed by the members as a symbol of what could be accomplished through inter-community cooperation. It was decided that this truck would be stationed at Howard Forbes Store, allowing a truck to be within approximately 4.5 miles of all members at all times.

 June 13, 1963 the first Official fire station was built next to Howard Forbes store to house one of the trucks.
 The Department's activities were financed by public contributions and an annual BBQ dinner that was a community favorite until it's end in the early 2000's.
 Over the next several years, the department continued to grow. The fleet of vehicles had expanded to seven trucks by the early 1970's and to nine trucks by the 1990's. The Fleet currently consist of eight trucks.

 In August of 1977 Staton House Fire Department moved into its current main station and has continued to thrive with the help and support of the communities that it proudly serves.

Join our Department

 Our organization - like many others in the fire service depend on the people of our district to volunteer their time.

If you are interested in volunteering, Contact us at (252)-752-3879 or Come by the Main Station at 2501 N. Memorial Drive and get to know the good men & women of Staton House Fire & Rescue Department.
  IF you live outside of our community, Please check with Your local Fire Department.
They too may be in need of people willing to give freely of their time for a noble cause.

Corporate Board of Directors

President Wilbert Futrell  |   Vice President Tommy Worthington

Secretary  Rose Roebuck  |   Treasurer  Clyde Naylor

                             Chaplains   Ed Scull , Douglas White

Three Year Members  Jimmy Harris,  Mac Ross

Two Year Members   Greg Giles,  Richard Pollard

One Year Members   Bobby Paige,  Tre' Teel

Association Board of Directors

President Tommy Worthington  |   Vice President Wilbert Futrell

Secretary  Rose Roebuck  |   Treasurer Steve Naylor

Board Members  Bill Brown,  Clyde Naylor,  David Tripp

Fireground Officers

CHIEF Steve Naylor   |    ASST. CHIEF Jimmy Harris

Captains  Phillip Latham,  Bobby Paige

Lieutenant   Clyde Naylor,  Noah Smith

Safety Officer Steven Harrell   

Part-Paid Personel  Justin Buttitta,  Michael Hobgood,  Jay Morris,  Mervin Taylor


Jeff Bell
Justin Bolduc
Josh Corbett
Jerone Coward
Dillon Eckert
Rex Fleming
Will Futrell
Bryan Herring
Calvin Johnson

John Kepler
Frankie Lopez
Lindsey Naylor
Richard Pollard
Keith Rakowski
Reggie Roach
Robert Roach
David Roebuck
Rose Roebuck

Stephen Roebuck
Taylor Roebuck
Mac Ross
Jason Smith
Jaquel Stanley
Tre' Teel
Wayne Winkler
Douglas White
Tommy Worthington

Jr. Firefighters

Cody Ross

Auxillary Members

Gene Corbett
Greg Giles
Jaden Harris

Toby Ridenour
John Roebuck


Hands-Only CPR

How to use a Portable Fire Extinguisher

Music video tribute - "Wanted Dead or Alive"

Created for the 2009 Pitt-Greenville Crimestoppers Telethon
Winner of the "Most Requested Video" award

Music video tribute - "Good Bye"

Video tribute to Danny Williams

Vial of Life

        VIAL of LIFE

The Vial of Life  (VOL) program is a national program that aids First Responders by assisting them with pertinent medical information when it is needed in the time of an emergency.

Each Vial of Life Kit Includes:

There are N0 FEES or REGISTRATION REQUIRED to use this program

Kits can be picked up at the following locations:

Sportsmans Give-away logo

Presenting our

2014 Winners

$10,000.00 Grand Prize Winner    Jeff Stancil

$5,000.00 Runner-Up Winner    Amy Phillips

$400.00 Winners - All names are listed alphabetically

Art Sparks
John Thompsaon
Kay Brown
Kenny Shingleton
Marvin Gay

Mike Nichols
Mike Wetherington
Morris Luton
Olivia Branch
Pete Robinson

Robert Stewart
Scott Childress
Stephen Warner
Sydney Spain
Thomas McInnis

Gun Winners

Marlin Model 336-W .30-.30 Lever Action
Remington 870 12 gauge Shotgun
Ruger Model M-77 Hawkeye .308 Bolt
Mossberg Persuader 12 gauge Shotgun
Savage Axis package 243 with Scope
Remington 870 20 gauge Pump
TriStar “Hunter”over/under 12 gauge Shotgun
Fishing Trip for Two
Thompson Center 7mm-08 Rifle
Ruger 10-22 Rifle (Wood Stock)
Stevens Security 320 12 gauge Shotgun
Ruger American 270 Rifle
Hunting trip for two Orca Cooler
Remington 700 .270 Bolt-Action
Smith   Wesson M P 15-2Rifle2
Henry H001 .22 lever Rifle

Leroy Smith
David Naylor
BT Manning
Jimbo Tyndall
David Naylor
Eric Williams
Taylor Peaden
Wanda Naylor
Dora Glisson
Guy Leggett III
Anne Massey
Bill Clifton
Michael McDaniel
Keith Starling
Jeff Cobb
David Roebuck

Click Here to view Archived Winners List - opens in new window

Return to top of page